Mashup Background

In the style of trying new things and being creative, I once tried to submit a background for a character on a RPG written purely as song lyrics. The lyrics were cut from a number of different songs to tell a story, and I figure it might be good to post them here and get people’s opinions. The character was a street level gang member, which should be evident from the lyrics.

As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
I take a look at my life and realize there’s not much left
coz I’ve been blastin and laughin so long, that
even my mama thinks that my mind is gone…

These ideas are nightmares to white parents
Whose worst fear is a child with dyed hair and who likes earrings
Like whatever they say has no bearing, it’s so scary in a house that allows
no swearing
To see him walking around with his headphones blaring
Alone in his own zone, cold and he don’t care
He’s a problem child
And what bothers him all comes out, when he talks about
His fuckin’ dad walkin’ out
Cause he just hates him so bad that he blocks him out
If he ever saw him again he’d probably knock him out
His thoughts are whacked, he’s mad so he’s talkin’ back
Talkin’ black, brainwashed from rock and rap
He sags his pants, do-rags and a stocking cap
His step-father hit him, so he socked him back, and broke his nose
His house is a broken home, there’s no control, he just let’s his emotions
go

When I left my home and my family
I was no more than a boy
In the company of strangers
In the quiet of the railway station running scared
Laying low, seeking out the poorer quarters
Where the ragged people go
Looking for the places only they would know

Broken glass everywhere
People pissing on the stairs, you know they just don’t care
I can’t take the smell, I can’t take the noise no more
Got no money to move out, I guess I got no choice
Rats in the front room, roaches in the back
Junkies in the alley with the baseball bat
I tried to get away, but I couldn’t get far
Cause a man with a tow-truck repossessed my car

Asking only workman’s wages
I come looking for a job
But I get no offers,
Just a come-on from the whores on Seventh Avenue
I do declare, there were times when I was so lonesome
I took some comfort there

I am a question to the world
Not an answer to be heard
Or a moment that’s held in your arms

And what do you think you’d ever say
I won’t listen anyway
You don’t know me
And I’ll never be what you want
Me to be

Mama, just killed a man
Put a gun against his head
Pulled my trigger, now he’s dead
Mama, life had just begun
But now I’ve gone and thrown it all away
Mama, ooo
Didn’t mean to make you cry
If I’m not back again this time tomorrow
Carry on, carry on, as if nothing really matters

The me that you know he had some second thoughts
he’s covered with scabs and he is broken and sore
the me that you know doesn’t come around much
that part of me isn’t here anymore

Right here is where the end gon’ start at,
Conflict, Contact, Combat,
Fighters stand where the land is marked at,
Settle the dispute about who the livest,
3 word answer,
Whoever survive this,
Only one of us can ride forever,
So you and I cant ride together,
Can’t live or cant die together,
All we can do is collide together,
So I skillfully apply the pressure,
Won’t stop until I’m forever… One!

And I don’t give a fuck about the hell’s gate
Ain’t punkin’ the crowd and I’m still standing up straight
So, we pull these jobs to make a little money
No one gets hurt if they don’t act funny

No man could understand
My power is in my own hand
Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, people talk about you
People say you’ve had your day
I’m a man that will go far
Fly the moon and reach for the stars
With my sword and head held high
Got to pass the test first time – yeah
I know that people talk about me – I hear it every day
But I can prove them wrong ‘cos I’m right first time
Yeah, yeah, alright, let’s go, let’s go, ha haa
Yeah, watch this man fly, wooh
Bring on the girls – c’mon – c’mon – c’mon

How many people wanna kick some ass?
I do I do
And how many people sick of holding it back?
I am
Well I am too

We didn’t start the fire
It was always burning
Since the world’s been turning
We didn’t start the fire
No we didn’t light it
But we tried to fight it

Police-a them-a they come and-a they blow down me door
One him come crawl through through my window
So they put me in the back the car at the station
From that point on I reach my destination
Well the destination reached in down-a East detention
Where they whip down me pants look up me bottom

Fuck the Police
Fuck the Police
Fuck the Police
Fuck the Police

Leave a Reply

